“If Elvis was an Oompa Loompa, he’s right in front of me”: Grown Ups

I swear this movie’s conception came about by Adam Sandler sitting down and saying to himself, “What kind of movie does Deanna want to see?”

Let me start by explaining the awesomeness of this cast.  I love them.  I love them all.  I will now list the cast of Grown Ups, in order, from least favorite to favorite, but keep in mind even my least favorite person is still crazy funny:  Chet Hunter (because that’s his name in Boy Meets World, and therefore will forever be his name), Selma Hayek, Tim Meadows, Steve Buscemi, Norm McDonald, Colin Quinn, Rob Schneider, Maya Rudolph, Chris Rock, David Spade, Adam Sandler, and Kevin James.  Yes, Paul Blart is my favorite actor in this movie.  I love him dearly and wish I could marry him.

Getting to the actual movie.  It’s one of the funniest movies I’ve ever seen, and not in an Anchorman/totally bizarre and it gets less funny the more times you see it kind of way.  Also, my parents loved it, so clearly, it spans the generational and obnoxiously uninterested dad gaps.

It starts with the five main guys (Sandler, James, Schneider, Rock, and Spade) as kids on a youth basketball team winning the championship.

Fast forward 30 years later when their coach (Chet Hunter), aka Coach Buzzer, dies and they all attend his funeral.  Sandler rents the lake house the team celebrated in as children, and they all return there, only this time they (almost) all have their own families.

Sandler hopes the escape from technology will help his kids do more “normal” activities and play fewer video games.  The whole weekend is a time for these long lost friends to reconnect with each other and their families.

I don’t really have time to elaborate (I have to be at work soon), nor do I want to give too much away, but just do me a favor and watch this movie.  It’s amazing.  It’s hilarious.  It’s amazingly hilarious.

Leave a Reply

