“I feel fraudlent”: I’m Still Here

I’m pretty sure Joaquin Phoenix has mental health issues.  I’m like 98% positive.  He definitely needs to seek medical attention of some sort.

I don’t really know what to say about this film.  I’m convinced this whole thing was just a hoax for the sake of this film.  I’m Still Here, however, does everything it can to assure me it’s not.  I don’t buy it.

If in a year Casey Affleck and Joaquin Phoenix come out and say it was some sort of strange performance art, I’ll probably give it another chance.  Until then it just makes me uncomfortable and somewhat bored.

In case you’ve been living under a rock for the past two years, JP (as he’s referred to in the film) retires from acting and attempts to become a hip hop artist.  This is a documentary (mockumentary, perhaps?) by his brother-in-law & bff, Casey Affleck, following him on this transformation.  It was during this time that he went on a bunch of late night shows with matted, dread locked, disgusting hair, blue-tinted sunglasses, and a full-on hipster/mountain man beard, acting completely out of his mind. The longer his hair gets, the crazier he gets.  At one point he snorts cocaine and has sex with a hooker.  Or maybe he doesn’t.  I don’t know.  Is it real or not?  I sort of don’t care.

If that sounds like your cup of tea, there’s no judgment here, but good luck with that.  I watched for 40 minutes, trying to make something of it.  I couldn’t.  When the movie decides what it wants to be, somebody let me know.

Update 11/26:  So this was recently shared with me.  (Because I was too lazy to actually look for it myself.)  I’m Still Here is fake. Thank you, Michael Browning.  And just for the record, I still think he has a mental illness.  This movie aside, the guy is cray-cray.

Leave a Reply

