“You’re not an asshole, but you’re trying so hard to be”: The Social Network

I feel an almost irrepressible urge to go out and buy some pacifiers.  Jesse Eisenberg’s giant pouty lips are so overwhelming in this film, I can’t help but be reminded of a newborn baby when they still have that quiver thing going on with their bottom lip that just makes you want to squeeze their little baby cheeks.  He literally sucks on his bottom lip as if it were a pacifier for a considerable chunk of the movie.

But beyond that, I was thoroughly unimpressed by The Social Network.  Don’t get me wrong, I love me some Aaron Sorkin–probably more so than the next person–but this just didn’t really do it for me.  His dialogue was great:  witty, quick, biting, real, but smarter.  I liked it.  I even like to think that’s how Mark Zuckerberg really talks.  I love smart asses, especially when they can back it up.  (Insert Beyonce’s Ego lyrics here.)

It’s just… I don’t know.  The story, maybe?  It wasn’t that great of a story.  It was interesting.  I’m glad I watched it.  I liked learning about how the thing I’m addicted to came to be.  It definitely has the drama surrounding its creation necessary to become a good movie.  It is modern and the characters are people we hear about (or did hear about semi-recently) in the news.

Maybe I just wish it weren’t all based in the fact that Mark Zuckerberg was pissy because a girl broke up with him and his friend was more popular than him.

But it is.

Facebook was brought into being, essentially due to a girl breaking up with Mark Zuckerberg.  He went back to his room, blogged about what a bitch she was, and then started a website called FaceMash.com in which people voted on which of the two girls shown was hotter.  All of the girls, though, were his classmates or undergrad girls at his ex-girlfriend’s school.

After 4 hours, FaceMash got so many hits it crashed Harvard’s network.  Some crew guys found out about Mark & asked him to make their website:  a dating site where you have to have a Harvard e-mail address to access it.

One of the ensuing lawsuits stems from that.  Mark said he would make their website, but instead made The Facebook.  The crew guys think he stole their idea; Mark thinks he was just rejecting the popular people who so often rejected him.

The other lawsuit comes from Eduardo, Mark’s bff who cofounded FB and put the initial money into it.  He was the business end of the site; the CFO, in fact. Once Mark meets Justin Timberlake–I mean Sean Parker, the creator of Napster–he basically convinces Mark to push Eduardo out of the picture.  And he does.  So Ed sues him, too.

I know this movie got a lot of buzz.  About what, I was never really clear.  Oscar buzz?  Doubtful.  Except for the music, maybe.  Trent Reznor of Nine Inch Nails along with Atticus Ross did the music, and it was pretty great.  (And for the record, Golden Globes don’t count as “buzz” of any kind.)  The film isn’t that engrossing.  Most all of the characters are fairly one-dimensional.  I think it was a moderately entertaining movie that I don’t particularly need to see ever again.

2 responses to ““You’re not an asshole, but you’re trying so hard to be”: The Social Network

  1. I wholeheartedly disagree. I remember being completely engrossed when i saw it. I need to watch it again to effectively argue the finer points of the film, but my first impression was overwhelmingly positive.

    • i think you are watching the wrong kinds of movies.

      it wasn’t bad, i am just completely baffled by why everyone was falling all over themselves for this film. but get back to me. i’m interested to hear an actual perspective on it.

Leave a Reply

